TEACHER FEATURE: Liz!

unspecifiedTEACHER FEATURE: LIZ
The lovely Liz; how could someone so sweet kick our butts so hard?!  Learn more about Liz, and the answer will be crystal clear!

How did you first hear about Bar Method?  A friend brought me in 2012. I was a hard-core athlete who thought Bar Method was for wussies!  I thought it’d be a “half-assed” workout, filled with wealthy women to whom I couldn’t relate.
What made you fall in love with Bar?
The fact that it went against all my preconceptions! It was a total body workout, both hard and efficient, in one hour! Plus, the clients were down-to-earth and incredibly supportive!

What part of your past prepared you to become a Bar teacher? I was a competitive figure skater growing up and became a figure skating teacher. Next, I got my Masters degree in elementary education and taught first grade for years before having my children. My love of teaching and fitness is the perfect combination for teaching Bar.20160924_203851-1

How has Bar Method changed you for the better? BM has changed my workout regime in a great way; it has helped me fine-tune my workout into 60 minutes.  I used to spend way more time every day trying to get a good workout.  Now, I get an all-encompassing workout in just one hour (and soon, 45 minutes with Bar Express!).

What is your current goal at Bar?  To complete 15 classes in 21 days for our Fall Frenzy Challenge!

Where can we find you when you’re not at Bar? If I am not at the Bar Method, I am either driving one of my four kids to an athletic event, at the gymnastics arena where my youngest and oldest daughters train (and where I work in the home-school arena), running my two dogs or on the couch, margarita in hand, with my hubby!

img_9172
LIZ LOOKING FAB AFTER FOUR KIDS! #thanksbarmethod

How many times per week do you take class? I try to take class 4-5 times a week. I don’t do anything else for exercise (other than walking my dogs).Who taught your first class? Melissa. The worst part was heel lifts; I had to stop because I got the worst cramp in my calves!

How did your audition to teach/teacher training go?  Teacher-training was hard, really hard!! Way harder than I had anticipated, as was the post-training.  But, anything hard is usually worth doing because you’ll learn a lot and build your character at the same time. Or, at least, that is what I kept thinking during the hours and hours of studying and training!

What was the biggest message or revelation learned during that process? I was doing really well during the teacher training but in the final stage, we are required to send in a video of us teaching a class.  I failed the video and was very humbled by the experience! It taught me that the method is top-notch — becoming a teacher isn’t easy. The setback helped me  study more, work harder to learn the technique and, ultimately, be a better teacher!

What’s your favorite exercise during class? Fold over.  I hate it too,  but I feel it is so incredibly effective at carving my seat and keeping my heart rate up!

What’s your favorite exercise to teach? Honestly, everything! I really don’t have a favorite – they are all hard and good! I tailor each class to the seat work of the day and to the clients attending.

What’s the exercise you have the hardest time with? Any high heeled thigh set; thigh is so hard!  It makes my legs burn, it elevates my heart rate and it kills!

Do you modify any exercises? Why? I use a riser for round-back and flat-back to help my hips and feel it more in my abs. I also use a riser and one mini-mat in low curl; it makes it way more intense and allows me to feel the correct ab muscles!

What has been your greatest Bar Method accomplishment? Training for Bar Move and teaching our first ever Teen Series in Bernardsville!

image3.jpg
Liz leading reverence during our TEEN SERIES!
Leave a Reply

