TEACHER FEATURE: Janet!

Screen Shot 2017-07-18 at 9.40.42 AMTEACHER FEATURE: JANET!
Once an elementary school teacher, this beautiful & athletic mom of four fell in love at first sight…with the Bar Method!  Her passion is evident in each class she teaches and takes. Her form and her smile are an inspiration — read on for more!

When did you take your first Bar Method class?  I took my first class when the Summit studio opened over nine years ago. I got certified to teach in the Bernardsville studio in 2014.

 

What made you fall in love with Bar? I immediately fell in love with the intensity of the workout, both mentally and physically, and how safe it was on my joints.

How many times per week do you take class? At least four.

What part of your past prepared you to become a Bar Method teacher? Working out has always been a part of my life. I played three varsity sports in high school plus college lacrosse, so I have always been active. This helped nurture the mindset that “you get out what you put in,” which is so important in both teaching and taking Bar.

How did your audition to teach & teacher training go? It was humbling. It definitely took me out of my comfort zone to teach a class with a headset on!

What was the revelation that you learned during that process? That I could learn to lead a class and learn to hear the beat. I’ve always worked out to music but never paid much attention to syncing exercise to the beat and using it to gain strength and intensity.

Where can we find you when you’re not at Bar? Usually in a hockey rink or driving a hockey carpool. However, I just joined the real estate team at Sotheby’s International Realty so i will likely be found at local Open Houses! (Looks like even more driving is in my future — all the more reason to love Bar for balancing out the sedentary lifestyle of driving!)

What’s your favorite exercise to do in class? It varies, but fold-over has always been a favorite.

What’s your favorite exercise to teach? Pretzel. Its so unique and people work so hard to get in good form. Plus, the yummy stretches afterwards are always a crowd pleaser!

What’s the exercise you have the hardest time with? I have very tight hips so any exercise that calls on more hip flexor tension can be a challenge.

Do you modify any exercises? (why?) I only modify when my low back gives me trouble. I recently discovered I have an aggravated disc in my low back so I am mindful of not overdoing it during certain exercises. That’s the beauty of Bar Method; it can be modified and you can still get a great, total body workout!

What is your current goal at Bar? To keep honing my teaching to quickly inspire more people to remain fully engaged throughout each exercise.

What’s your greatest Bar Method accomplishment? Becoming certified to teach! I just love it!

How has Bar Method changed you for the better? Bar Method has made me appreciate how important it is to carve at least one hour out of the day for yourselfto do something where you are totally immersed in the moment. Rather than feeling guilty about it, embrace its necessity and soon you’ll be a much happier person!

 

Leave a Reply

